Intro to the Past

Welcome to Perks Garage! This blog will be used to discuss my passion for all things automotive. I will share my views, opinion and perspectives on cars, tuning, specs and events that I attend throughout the year, and yes there will be pics as well.  Now I admit that I am not the greatest photog, but in my head I am just as good as a Marcel Bischler or a Jeremy Cliff, look them up if you don’t already know.  I will be interviewing other enthusiast and showcasing builds along the way.
Now that we got that out of the way, let me start by introducing myself. I’m Mike and have been in love with cars since I was about 10, which was a looooong time ago. I am not afraid to work on my own cars, from regular maintenance and stereos to installing custom suspension and body kits.  My first memory of driving was in my sisters Honda Civic when I was about 12 or so.  At that moment I was in love and knew driving would be my sanctuary.  My first automotive love was the 88 Honda CRX SI.  When most boys were drooling over their dads dirty mags, I had the Honda car brochure spread eagle on my bedroom wall with the CRX centerfold enticing my dreams.  I would rush home and thumb thru the brochure everyday, going between the CRX and the Prelude.  It was torture since driving a car was years away…legally that is, and owning one was even further.  In my years, I have owned a number of vehicles and I have modified every last one of them with the exception for my 85 CRX (funny story about that one). Needless to say my  hobby drove drives my wife crazy, as I am sure it would most wives.  In the last 2 years, I tried to convince my wife that owning 5 vehs for 2 drivers with a 2.5 car garage was a great idea.  With that, I am now banned from buying another car for quite some time now 🙂  I’ve gone from Tercels with big wheels to slammed Accords.  From RonJon kitted TL’s to stretched and poked Quattro TT’s.  In the words of the great philosopher of this new generation imported direct from Canada “Started from the bottom, now we here!” – Drake 2014  lol

Now with that brief intro, I give you Perks Garage!

Welcome and enjoy the ride.

8 thoughts on “Intro to the Past

  1. Antrel P says:

    Man it goes further than that. AS a kid sitting the bed of Sonny’s Datsun pickup truck, I recall you playing a game of that my car. Ironically I was in the bed of that truck with you and joined you indentifying everything with wheels. I blame your sister for the car enthusiast you have become. I share your passion and will enjoy reading your stories. My chapter in the book has to the second longest.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Daughter Perk says:

    I cannot WAIT to read more!!! I’ll always remember sitting in the passenger seat of your black accord with the wutang stickers on the tail lights (when I was younger I thought they were Batman stickers) and always pressuring you into racing someone. The faster we went the bigger my smile got and the louder my giggle would get. Whenever mom told me you were picking me up I’d immediately think “my friends are gonna be so jealous”. Lol. Love it pops! Keep the posts coming!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

